Author Topic: Cost/Benefit of Rotary Phase Converter vs. Real 3P Upgrade?  (Read 1164 times)

SCLead

Cost/Benefit of Rotary Phase Converter vs. Real 3P Upgrade?
« on: September 04, 2018, 09:50:52 PM »
Apologies if this is the wrong section..I feel like it counts more as "structural" electrical than the electrical section calls for.

So here's my dilemma. As I acquire more and more tools, I find myself falling into more and more 3P machines. At the moment, I'm up to six. This is in contrast to my one single phase 220v and two or three 120v machines. This is mostly driven by acquiring things in lots, rather than individual machines, and price drives all.

I was able to pick up a new 5hp Baldor motor cheap ($50) with intent to build an RPC out of it. The biggest 3P machine I have at the moment is a 3hp Baldor pedestal grinder (it's a beast!). I'm no electrical engineer, so I'm not even sure a 5hp RPC will run a 3hp 3P machine. That said, I figure 5hp RPC is enough to run any one of my other machines at a time, but certainly no two of them.

So the question becomes; at what point does it make sense to get 3P 220v dropped into my shop? I haven't price shopped at all, aside from some general online browsing, and it's obvious the price varies immensely based on an exceedingly wide range of factors. By having 3P dropped to my property, should I expect to pay a higher premium on my monthly bill regardless of usage?

In contrast, how inefficient are rotary phase converters? Obviously this depends on the motor used and quality of design, but as a rule, are even the best RPCs horribly inefficient creatures that will justify a hard-line 3-phase install in a relatively short timeframe?

Carpenter84

Re: Cost/Benefit of Rotary Phase Converter vs. Real 3P Upgrade?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2018, 10:20:35 PM »